January 16th, 2011

SO it’s morning. Ick. Definitely did too much cleaning. Hands HURT. Wrists are ok thanks to those new fangdangled wrist guards I bought. Shoulders/neck/back also very sore. Refusing to take painkillers anymore, unless I’m crying. The more drugs I take the worse the rest of my guts feel and the harder I can push myself, then I just get more sore the next day. So if I don’t take the drugs I won’t go overboard. I hope. I’m also getting back to writing this daily blog in 2 sections, morning and evening. You know how I’ve missed like a week? It’s cuz I try to convince myself to write at the end of the day. So far I’m feeling pretty bummed. Like a 5. Pain is sitting at a 7.

About halfway through my shift my shoulders/neck/upper back got very sore and stiff. Did some HEAVILY modified forward folds which loosened things up and eased some of the pain. Had to take it slow at work but still managed to get everything done in a timely fashion. Practised ASKING FOR HELP today at work. Ryan is a sweet heart. About an hour before I went home from work my right wrist began having these random stabbing pains, almost what I think carpal tunnel would feel like, which by the time I got onto the Skytrain, had also started in my right elbow and shoulder. The left shoulder kicked in by the time I got home. Wore my braces all the way home, didn’t take them off until I lay down. Lay down with Rob and sorta dozed for an hour or so. Was actually MORE sore by the time I got up. Shoulders/hands/wrists/elbows/spine/neck. Made dinner, had an Epsom salt bath. Was feeling pretty good when I got out. Not so much pain as that weird throbbing feeling, like I can feel my pulse in every cell(this is a relatively common occurrence). Been out of the tub for about 20 minutes and the pain is creeping into my shoulders and back again. So I’m going to take some Tylenol and lay down. Overall it was a pretty good day. I was cranky and short tempered but only gloomy rather than miserable.

Oh, and I splurged and bought myself a tin of Tazo Earl Grey tea bags. Best Earl Grey on the planet, I swear!

Pain: 79

Meds: 2 x Tylenol Arthritis, 2 x Apo Hydroxyquine(I think…I honestly cant remember if I took them or not)

Supplements: all

Mood: 5-6

Diet: grande Tazo Earl Grey Tea w/milk and honey, water(7 cups), carrots and ranch dip(about 2 servings), small piece of foccacia bread hashbrowns(1.5 cups)/sunny side up eggs(3), some 5 cent candy

One thought on “January 16th, 2011

  1. As weird as it is, we need the pain – it’s there for a reason. Doping yourself to cope with things you shouldn’t be doing in the first place is the start of a spiral. You hurt more, you take more drugs to work, so you work more. And you hurt more. You can’t stay on that road for long šŸ˜¦

    Your poor hands šŸ˜¦

Leave a Reply

